NWFL 2021/2022 Opener: Sunshine Queens Host Bayelsa Queens As Edo Queens Kick Off Season Away To Adamawa Queens

The 2021/2022 Nigeria Women Football League Premiership (NWFL) will on the 8th of December, 2021, kicks off in centres across the country with mouthwatering matches lined up for the opening week.

The season which will see two zones, Southern and Northern partitioned into groups A and B to house seven teams each, is planned to end with Super Six, where the top three teams from each group will meet in a to be decided venue, in May 2022.

In group A, Adamawa Queens, in Yola, will host Obaseki girls, Edo Queens as a newly promoted side, Naija Ratels Ladies will at their Abuja base entertain Osun Babes. Another newcomer, Pelican Stars will pay Confluence Queens a visit at the Lokoja stadium, Kogi State.

Group B will witness more entertaining encounters as FC Robo Queens, at the Legacy pitch, Surulere, Lagos, will play host to Abia Angels in what’s a tricky encounter. It’s going to be a cool game to match in Akure when Sunshine Queens who had its technical team dissolved during the Betsy Obaseki Women Football Tournament will play host to last season’s AITEO cup winners, Bayelsa Queens. As for last season champions and Nigeria’s representative at the ongoing CAF Women Champions League, Rivers Angels, they will play away to Delta Queens at the Stephen Keshi Stadium, Asaba, in a match set as the official opening match of the season.

Matches across centres are scheduled for simultaneous kick-off time, 4 pm

Nasarawa Amazons and FC Royal Queens in groups A and B respectively are on bye in the first round of fixtures of the season.

The winners of the Super 6 will be representing the country at the next season’s CAF women’s champions league.

Photos: Google

Related articles


Leave a Reply

Share article


Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.